Services are any additional features or configuration on a device. Generally, services are any addition to the basic device configuration that is not absolutely and minimally required to create the device.
Several factors drive services availability, behavior and workflow. Here’s a short list:
- The component of the device it is applied to (such as a connection or interface) or whether it is applied to the entire device
- Where and when the service can be added, edited or deleted
- Day 0 refers to any time BEFORE the device has launched into live service
- Day 1 refers to any time AFTER the device is live
- Whether the service is a chargeable element
- If the service will incur additional charges, this will be indicated before completing the change process
Any time a service is offered on a device, the portal will typically offer a brief description of the feature, along with a tooltip. Just hover over these tooltips to learn more about each service. For a more detailed description of each service and guidance on how, why and when to use each service refer to the NE Deployment Guide.
Day 0 Services
During the Day 0 device creation flow, access most services via the Additional Services section of device configuration.
Some services will be mandatory or required for your device type, those services will display on this screen. The portal will not allow you to proceed ntil you have completed these portions of the configuration, but they otherwise operate like any other available service.
Note: the exact same service may be optional on some devices and mandatory on other devices.
NOTE: until you execute the order for the device, none of the configurations for additional services will take effect, so there is no harm to coming back to it, changing your mind or adding and removing services.
Before committing to buy, you will see a summary of any additional services and the device details you configured on a new device.
On Day 1+, most services are accessed through the device details under Inventory -> Virtual Device and under the Additional Services tab. The Additional Services tab is accessible via the Inventory page on the main menu.
Choose the component or object type you’d like to view. In this case, let’s start with Virtual Devices. You’ll see the list of active devices in your account that are visible with your current permissions.
Once a device is in service, some parameters can be changed or configured. From the Virtual Device details page, you can go to the Additional Services tab to edit any services that can be modified or added.
Many of the services available before the device is launched will also appear here to add, edit or delete. However, some services are ONLY available on this tab AFTER the device is in service. One important example is the VPN Tunnel service. It will appear after you have at least one active connection from your device to something else, like an ECX cloud provider:
Each service will feature a brief description of the service, a section to configure and a way to save/update or cancel the settings.
Here is the list of services:
- Adding or managing users for access via SSH/HTTPS
Adding or Managing Users For Access Via SSH/HTTPS:
When configuring Users for SSH or web GUI access to the device, you can add up to 5 separate usernames. You need to explicitly enable SSH/HTTPS access before you can add users. Once you do that, you can either add existing SSH users to the device (added previously to other devices owned across all the accounts in your organization)
Or create and add new users. When you type the new username, the system will verify if the new username is available (not in use elsewhere). The new users will show-up under the ‘Pending Users’ section. If you change your mind and want to remove this user from the device, you can either just un-check this user or explicitly click on ‘Remove’. In either case, note that this user will not be available for use in future.
On Day 1+, after the device is live and provisioned, you can go to the Inventory->[Your Virtual Device]->Additional Services tab to add/remove users
For HA devices, you can enable the SSH/HTTPS access independently for both primary and secondary device. Use the same users for both the primary and secondary devices by selecting Same as Primary Device.
NOTE: Some devices and vendors will not allow true or direct SSH access, opting for a simple web GUI instead. This service enables user access for both. You may also have some, such as an SDWAN vendor, that direct all changes to a software service or portal. In this case, they may even restrict or disallow SSH access. The Equinix portal will indicate this if so.
Learn more about accessing your device directly via SSH in this video.
Public Interface Access Control
Entering whitelisted IP Addresses to gain access to SSH, the public internet interface, or VPN Tunnels proceeds the same way. Enter a valid IPv4 address in CIDR format. The system will perform some basic validation against the format but it is not checking for authorization or registration status. To add another block, click the plus sign next to the field to add or click the minus sign next to the field to remove a previously entered row.
Additional Internet Bandwidth
Each virtual device comes with a default 15 Mbps of internet bandwidth. For a fee, you can add up to 500 Mbps of additional internet bandwidth to your device. You will also see this option under Additional Services.
On Day 1+, you can add/change/remove additional internet bandwidth from under the Inventory->[Your Virtual Device]->Additional Services. In order to remove an already existing additional internet bandwidth from your device, you need to explicitly click on ‘Remove’ link below the text box and review the changes before you click update. Note that any changes to this service will reflect in the invoice based on pro-rated price of the current and the new internet bandwidth, during the next billing cycle.
You can configure the VPN service only from Day 1+ and typically requires at least one active connection from your device to some other destination so that a tunnel can be formed between the device and a remote site. If you already have existing VPN tunnels, you will see that summary under the optional services tab.
From here you can add a new VPN Configuration, edit or delete the VPN Site Name. You’ll also see a live status of any existing VPN tunnels. Section 5 of the User Guide has more details on VPN.
NOTE: for both new adds and existing edits to a Day 1+ device, every time you save your changes, the configuration will immediately be pushed to the device, if relevant. This could cause a brief interruption to your device, service and traffic flow.
Some services are not always listed on the Optional Services tab, but are considered services that have the same impact as the services described above. The best example of this is BGP settings per connection.
When you add a VPN Configuration, you’ll see a new screen. This screen includes a basic diagram of the VPN tunnel from your remote site details (left side of the config screen) and the Virtual Device (right side of the screen, along with the routing and BGP peering information fields.)
After you complete the VPN configuration, the full settings will be pushed to the device immediately. The complete config update and sync with the remote site and peering may take a few minutes. You’ll see a status during that time. To edit or delete the VPN configuration, select the named site. In this example, it is called NESSV):
Next, you’ll see the VPN configuration screen.
From this point, you can edit either the site details (left side) or the BGP/peering details (right side), but not both simultaneously. After you have finished edits on either side, commit the change and the configuration for that portion will update to the device immediately. You can also delete the entire VPN configuration by selecting the Delete button at the bottom of the screen.