Once a device is in service, you can edit some parameters of the device from the Inventory screen. Select a device to see its details.
Choose the component or object type you’d like to view. In this case, let’s start with Virtual Devices. You’ll see the list of active devices in your account that are visible with your current permissions.
Once a device is in service, some parameters can be changed. An Edit link will display when that’s the case.
The tabs at the top of this screen link to more information. The most important piece is the Additional Services tab. Read more about services in section 2 of the User Guide.
Many of the services available before the device is launched will also appear here to add, edit or delete. However, some services are ONLY available on this tab AFTER the device is in service. One important example of this is the VPN Tunnel service. It will appear after you have at least one active connection from your device to something else, like an ECX cloud provider:
When you add a VPN Configuration, you’ll see a new screen. This screen includes a basic diagram of the VPN tunnel from your remote site details (left side of the config screen) and the Virtual Device (right side of the screen, along with the routing and BGP peering information fields.)
After you complete the VPN configuration, the full settings will be pushed to the device immediately. The complete config update and sync with the remote site and peering may take a few minutes. You’ll see a status during that time. To edit or delete the VPN configuration, select the named site. (In this example, it is called NESSV):
Next, you’ll see the VPN configuration screen.
From this point, you can edit either the site details (l;eft side) or the BGP/peering details (right side), but not both simultaneously. After you have finished edits on either side, commit the change and the configuration for that portion will update to the device immediately. You can also delete the entire VPN config with the Delete button at the bottom of the screen.
Delete a Device
To delete a device, use the button at the bottom of Device Details. You can delete the device if the following are true:
- The device is in a fully provisioned state and the License state is Registered
- No service is actively provisioning or in progress of updating the device configuration
- All connections have been deleted
- The HA-paired device, if relevant, is also deleted at the same time
The system will prompt you one final time before initiating delete:
The system will begin the de-provisioning process, which can sometimes take some time:
Once the device is deleted a record of the deleted device will be in your Inventory, but the device details will no longer contain status, serial numbers, registration or other key elements. A deleted device cannot be re-instantiated.